top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSCSU English

Alumni of the Month: October

Updated: Nov 3, 2019

Alora Coppola, Digital Content Manager at Sacred Heart Academy, Hamden, CT.



How did you know you wanted to major in English, and what classes did you use/learn from/appreciate the most?


Though I began my college career with courses in computer programming, engineering design, chemistry, and calculus, my love for reading and language began to outshine my skills in the STEM subjects. I favored my courses in the humanities and excelled at articulating processes during in-class presentations, something that was uniquely me among my engineering peers. During my first semester at Southern as a transfer student, my ENG 112 professor returned a paper asking in red pen if I had considered majoring in English. After meeting with a new advisor and the department chairperson, I was on my way! I chose to pursue a concentration in professional writing, with the intent of applying my studies of literature to 21st century communication practices within the workplace. To date, my professional writing internship (ENG 498) has proved the most valuable experience – the principles of online communication I gained, such as writing for the web and engaging with an audience, remain applicable as I manage, observe, and measure how users respond and interact with the content I publish across social media and other web platforms.

210 views0 comments

Events Blog

bottom of page